If you don’t currently have any tenants in your home, you’re free to sell it like you would sell any other unoccupied property. [read more="Read more" less="Read less"]
If you do have tenants you need to get rid of, you’ll need to adhere to the eviction laws.
Ten counties in Tennessee have to follow a strict legal process for eviction, entitled the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. URLTA notice requirements are different, and they apply to the following counties in Tennessee: Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Knox, Madison, Montgomery, Shelby, and Sumner.
You are not legally allowed to self-evict tenants who refuse to leave or comply with your rental agreement. You’ll need to serve most tenants with a 30 day notice. This is standard for minor lease violations, such as nonpayment. If you’re evicting the tenants for a reason not listed within your lease, you can still serve them the 30 notice as long as the reason you’re evicting them cannot be perceived to be discriminatory.
In your notice, you’ll need to outline the reason for the eviction if the tenant is at fault, and give them a 14 day period for redemption. If they don’t fix whatever they need to fix within that 14 days, then they have 30 days to vacate. If the tenants resolve the issue but violate the lease again for the same reason within six months, you only need to serve them a 14 day notice. Tenants don’t get another opportunity to comply, and this 14 day notice marks the countdown to the end of the lease.
If the offense is something serious, such as severe intentional damage to the property, felony crime, or violent threats, you can bypass all other notices and go directly for a 3 day notice. This is true for landlords in any county of Tennessee.
If you live outside of a county where URLTA is in effect, you can start with a 14 day notice for the majority of lease violations, including nonpayment. These tenants are afforded with the same opportunity to redeem themselves within that period. Minor offenses, such as a pet for whom a deposit was never paid, will require a 30 day notice.[/read]